Your E-mail:

CFPHR Statement on FCC ‘White Spaces’ Vote

CFPHR Statement on FCC ‘White Spaces’ Vote
October 24, 2008

White Spaces FCC Comment“>FCC

October 24, 2008

The Honorable Kevin J, Martin
Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street SW
Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Martin:

We are very concerned that the Federal Communications Commission is abandoning its decades-old practice of opening a proposed rulemaking for public comment prior to the adoption of new rules. According to media reports (“Broadcasters Seek to Slow Efforts to Open Vacant TV Airwaves,” Wall Street Journal, October 20,2008) the FCC will vote on the adoption o f new rules regarding the operation o f unlicensed devices in the so- called “white spaces” between the television channels.

This coalition is not currently taking a position on any proposed rules regarding white spaces use; however, the undersigned organizations are concerned about the process by which the FCC is contemplating the adoption ofnew rules. Federal regulatory agencies, such as the FCC, should be completely transparent in consideration ofnew rules, particularly those that impact every household in America that owns a television set. To not allow affected and interested parties to review and comment on proposed rules is irresponsible.

We believe it is imperative the FCC postpone its scheduled November 4th vote on the white spaces matter and issue a “Notice of Proposed Rulemaking” that would permit all interested parties to comment.


American Legislative Exchange Council
Kit Bromley, CEO, Background Checks IntI., Inc.
Susan A. Carleson, Chairman, American Civil Rights Union
Mark P. Cohen, Executive Director, Government Accountability Project
Eli Gold, Chairman, The Harbour League
Colin A. Hanna, President, Let Freedom Ring
Derek Hunter, Executive Director, Media Freedom Project
J. Bradley Jansen, Director, Center for Financial Privacy and Human Rights
George Landrith, President, Frontiers of Freedom
Andrew Langer, President, Institute for Liberty
Jim Martin, Chairman, 60 Plus Association
Jim Martin, Chairman, National Defense Council Foundation
lain Murray, Senior Fellow in Energy, Science and Technology, Competitive Enterprise Institute
James Murtagh, Co-Chair, International Association of Whistleblowers
Grover Norquist, President, Americans for Tax Reform
Michael Ostrolenk, National Director, Liberty Coalition
Tim Phillips, Americans for Prosperity Scott Pullins, Esq., Pullins Law
Terrance Scanlon, President, Capital Research Center
William Shaker, Rule of Law Committee
Ann E.W. Stone, Republicans for Choice

Copy to: Commissioner Michael J. Copps Commissioner Kenneth S. Adelstein Commissioner Deborah Taylor Tate Commissioner Robert M. McDowell